SFRPG

The forum for Science Fiction Role Playing Game inspiration and information! So Say We All!
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:00 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 5:41 am
Posts: 2149
Location: Yavne, Israel
Is there any chance I can upgrade Windows 7 32bit to 64 bit without buying a copy Windows 8 (as I have an OEM version; I also don't want to deal with Windows 8)? Or do I need to buy a new computer for this?

Computer specs attached...


Attachments:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png [ 85.44 KiB | Viewed 689 times ]

_________________
We are but a tiny candle flickering against the darkness of our times.

Stellagama Publishing - Visit our Blog, Den of the Lizard King
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:22 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 am
Posts: 5294
You should be able to still buy new 64bit OEMs of Windows 7 from online computer stores (e.g. around here it's places like ncix.com, presumably there's an equivalent kind of store where you are). You can't upgrade from 32bit to 64bit Windows 7 using Windows Anytime Upgrade though - you need to reinstall with a new 64bit version.

If you have 4GB RAM right now then with 32bit Windows you're only really seeing 3GB of that. 64bit will allow you to use more RAM if you install it. It'd also be a bit faster. But really I think for most purposes the only reason to get 64-bit is to be able to see and use over 4GB RAM.

_________________
SFRPG Owner/Admin
This post (or any other post I made here) may not be quoted or copied beyond the SF RPG boards without my explicit permission.
Check out the latest news from Spica Publishing!
evildrganymede.net - visit the The Worldbuilding Hub, and check out my Science Blog!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 5:41 am
Posts: 2149
Location: Yavne, Israel
How significant in actual practice is the difference between the 3.6 GB of RAM I'm using now to the 4GB I'll have with a 64bit installation?

_________________
We are but a tiny candle flickering against the darkness of our times.

Stellagama Publishing - Visit our Blog, Den of the Lizard King


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:41 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 am
Posts: 5294
Probably not much. Open your Task Manager (Ctrl+Shift+Esc) and go to the Performance tab. If the memory regularly gets maxed out when you're running something then you could probably do with more. If not, then you probably don't.

(e.g. I load some pretty huge images and datasets on my computer for work, and it regularly maxes out 16GB of RAM when it does that, but for every other purpose it's usually around 2.5-3GB. I could probably do with 32GB instead but that's another $400 or so...)

_________________
SFRPG Owner/Admin
This post (or any other post I made here) may not be quoted or copied beyond the SF RPG boards without my explicit permission.
Check out the latest news from Spica Publishing!
evildrganymede.net - visit the The Worldbuilding Hub, and check out my Science Blog!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 5:41 am
Posts: 2149
Location: Yavne, Israel
When running Google Chrome + STEAM + Metro 2033: Last Light during a mission, it uses 2.5 GB. With Wasteland II (a newer computer game), it's 3.35 GB with Chrome running in the background with several tabs open.

So with a newer game, yes, this gets filled almost to the edge; a bit older game from 2013, not necessarily so.

_________________
We are but a tiny candle flickering against the darkness of our times.

Stellagama Publishing - Visit our Blog, Den of the Lizard King


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:47 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 am
Posts: 5294
Then maybe it's worth it for you. It's probably worth going up to 8GB, so you would be better off with 64bit.

_________________
SFRPG Owner/Admin
This post (or any other post I made here) may not be quoted or copied beyond the SF RPG boards without my explicit permission.
Check out the latest news from Spica Publishing!
evildrganymede.net - visit the The Worldbuilding Hub, and check out my Science Blog!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited