SFRPG

The forum for Science Fiction Role Playing Game inspiration and information! So Say We All!
It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:29 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 8:55 am 

Last week I've started to teach myself to program in the Python language, which is pretty enjoyable to code with (the last time I programmed anything was when I learned QBasic Turbo Pascal as a kid). Anyhow, part as an exercise and part as a tool I wanted to have, I've programmed a script to generate a Classic Traveller sector. It outputs a SEC file, not unlike the ones used in other CT-related programs.

I must admit that I'm a total newbie in Python (and in programming in general) so this version of the script is very primitive. So far there is no graphical user's interface (GUI) so parameters are controlled by a configuration file (see readme). Once I'll master Python's GUI functions, I'll make this script far more user-friendly.

Also note that this script uses the CT-LBB6 star generation rules which are broken; they were included for the sake of canonicity. In a later version I'll add more realistic rules for star generation which will apply if you'll choose the "realistic" option.

You need Python to run this script; it is provided from its homepage for free. The version you need is Python 2.6.2.

The script itself is Open Source and thus free to use, modify and distribute (or improve on my very modest scripting). However, the Traveller rules used in it are copyrighted by Far Future Enterprises (see below) and thus the rules portion of this script may only be distributed free of charge and accompanied by the following notice:

Quote: