SFRPG

The forum for Science Fiction Role Playing Game inspiration and information! So Say We All!
It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 10:56 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Extreme World Settings
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:55 am 

My noble knights, I'm hereby to ask your assistance regarding this forthcoming quest:

What do you think about having a heavily formatted world setting? What I mean is, having its own names for yearly seasons, months, days and its own time tracking (other than a 24 hour system).

I ask this because I'm concerned that this might turn the game into an overwhelming experience forcing the player learning too much before allowing it to become immersed with it. Or am I simply underestimating the enthusiasm borne by hardcore RPG lovers?

I'm the controversial guy in the family. I have a negative essence and I tendency to reject the common being. I value practical things. Beauty comes always in second place. I'm self taught. I study what I want and when I want. War rages within myself ever since I can remember it. Part of me loves life part of me hates it. I celebrate nothing apart form my marriage. The rest of the year is gray like my soul. Only shouts of creativity give it some color but only when I'm next to my beloved ones.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:19 pm 

In one sense, it depends on how central the differences are to the world. If the world has a north pole-like 6 months of day and 6 months of night, then you will definitely need new terms to define time. On the other hand, if a day is still 24 hours and you just want to divide it into 36 units of light and 36 units of darkness, then it is adding fuss without any real benefit.

For seasons, I think that any attempt to significantly change terms will just add unnecessary complexity ... if there is a hot time of the year, then people will think of it as summer and calling it something else might just feel like playing a game in another language.